The Akron Municipal Court will be closed on Monday, May 27, 2024 in honor of Memorial Day. Regular hours will resume on Tuesday, May 28, 2024.


Akron Municipal Court Magistrate Amber Crowe Named to 2021 “30 for the Future” Class

Akron Municipal Court Magistrate Amber R. Crowe has been named to the Greater Akron Chamber’s “30 For The Future” Class for 2021. Magistrate Crowe serves on Judge Nicole Walker’s team.

Magistrate Crowe is one of thirty area men and women selected based on professional accomplishments and community involvement. Magistrate Crowe, who joined the Akron Municipal Court in 2020, is responsible for our court’s civil docket, conducts research and writing and presides over criminal and civil matters in Judge Walker’s courtroom.

Magistrate Crowe was nominated for this honor by Judge Walker.

“Amber is a very bright, dedicated magistrate and is always willing to help my colleagues with anything they might need. Amber understands how our court impacts lives and she takes her role as a magistrate very seriously,” said Judge Walker. “I appreciate her dynamic personality and professionalism.”

Magistrate Crowe was born, raised and currently resides in Summit County. She is a graduate of Manchester High School and received her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Pre-Law from the University of Akron in 2010. She earned her Juris Doctorate from the University of Akron School of Law in December of 2013.

Prior to becoming a Magistrate, she was employed at the Summit County Juvenile Court under Judge Linda Teodosio in the Court’s Family Resource Center and at the Summit County Prosecutor’s Office as an Assistant Prosecutor for Prosecutor Sherri Bevan Walsh. 

Magistrate Crowe shares her passion with our community in numerous ways. She serves on the Board of Directors for the Akron Law Alumni Association and the Hope Meadows Foundation, is the Akron Bar Association’s Juvenile Law Committee Co-Chair and is a Guardian ad Litem for the Summit County Juvenile Court. Since 2017, she has also served on New Franklin’s Board of Zoning Appeals and is currently Vice Chair.

Earlier this year, she led a court-sponsored virtual “Have Gavel, Will Travel” visit with Akron-based Girl Scout Troop #91244 where she shared an overview of the judicial system and the steps it takes to become an attorney.

The Akron Municipal Court has four additional leaders who have been named to “30 For The Future” in prior years: Judge Jon Oldham (2012), Magistrate Jennifer D. Towell (2013), Community Outreach and Grants Coordinator Nicole Hagy (2019) and Judge David Hamilton (2020).

All thirty award recipients will be honored during a celebration on Thursday, October 7, 2021.


Magistrate Amber R. Crowe

Magistrate Amber R. Crowe